13th International Symposium on Fusion Nuclear Technology

September 25-29, 2017

Kyoto, Japan

Miya-Abdou Award

Solicitation for Nomination

The International Standing Committee (ISC) for the International Symposium on Fusion Nuclear Technology (ISFNT) has approved a “MA-FNT Award”. This e-mail is a solicitation for nominations for the eighth award, which will be presented at ISFNT-13 in Kyoto, Japan September 25-29, 2017. The deadline for the nominations is 15 May, 2017.

Title of Award

Miya-Abdou Award for Outstanding Technical Contributions to the Field of Nuclear Technology (FNT). The award title is abbreviated as MA-FNT Award.

Objective of the Award

The award aims at acknowledging outstanding technical contributions to the field of Fusion Nuclear Technology at a young age. The technical contributions can be in any field that is within the scope of ISFNT. The award is intended for scientists and engineers at age 40 or younger.

Award Prize

The winner of the award will receive $ 5,000 (five thousand) and a certificate plaque briefly citing his/her principal achievements.

When the Award will be given

The Award will be bestowed at every meeting of ISFNT. This solicitation of nomination is for the award to be given in ISFNT-13 in Kyoto, Japan September 25-29, 2017.

Nomination Package

The nomination can be made by any individual. The nomination package shall have:

  1. A nomination letter with adequate documentation of the nominee’s technical contributions and accomplishments. The nomination letter must briefly summarize the principal outstanding accomplishments of the nominee. The nomination must certify that the nominee is at 40 or younger at the time of the nomination.
  2. Three (or more) letters from other scientists supporting the nomination.

Transmittal of Nomination Package

All nomination packages must be submitted electronically via e-mail to Dr. Angel Ibarra (CIEMAT) email: angel.ibarra@ciemat.es.


The deadline for receiving nomination packages is 15 May, 2017.

On behalf of the “MA-FNT Award” Committee, I would like to encourage you to nominate qualified, outstanding young FNT scientists/ researchers/ engineers.

Best regards,
Angel Ibarra
Chair MA-FNT Award Committee for 2017